The Advantage of Great Change

Sometimes changes are a singular thing such as a promotion, moving to a new place, a new job, a pet etc.  When those happen, other changes may follow suit as you adapt your life to the change in routine.  Over the course of ones life, these things will happen often and sometimes it’s a combination of changes that happen in a short amount of time, unconnected, that end up becoming intertwined.  Hence a big or great change happens.

Which has pretty much been this year.

My mom passed away earlier this year.  Her health took a nasty turn in the very beginning of the year.  Around that time, the demands at work increased and my caseload more than doubled.  Between those and little things, I was glad to look forward to the summer months in which my requirements were almost nonexistent.  I could focus on myself.  That is, until I got laid off a week after school let out.  Long story short, I was able to get a new job within two weeks and I’ll start at the end of August, when my school year would’ve started.

My new job has me relocating, although I don’t know where I’ll be until I finish the class/training I’m currently doing.  The good news is the places I’d be relocating to cost less than half of what I’m paying in Northern Virginia, but the bad things is the slight pay cut and the fact I have to move.  Truth be told, the traffic in the area have been eating at me more and more, making me reconsider where I eventually want to be.  The areas I’ll be place are definitely not it, but life throws you a curve ball.  I’m excited about the work I’ll be doing and I can still keep up with my violin lessons, volunteer work, see friends, go to music shows, travel etc.

On a lighter note, I went to New York City this past weekend/last week and had an amazing time!  It may be my favorite city!  This weekend/later this week I’ll do a formal post about it, but for now I wanted to do a quick post and check in.  I’ll be ending my travels for a little while in two weeks (rounding out the summer with a trip to Ontario).  I really need to get a job that requires distant travel or has a remote location option..

Leave a Reply

