Ocean City!

IMG_0903

Shortly after my mom died, one of my close friends of 10 years suggested a road trip and vacation for the two of us.  It culminated into a multi-day trip to Ocean City, Maryland.  I’d never been personally and my friend hadn’t been in several years.  Long story short, we made our 4 hour drive to Ocean City on Tuesday and came back Thursday in better spirits and well rested (and with better tans?)  We’re both fair skinned so it’s burn and tan or stay pale.

Since my friend had to go into work for a brief period, we left in the early part of the afternoon on Tuesday.  Along the way my friend introduced me to the Hamilton soundtrack which I have since bought/downloaded.  We won’t discuss its presence in my head or how often I’ve listened to several songs.

IMG_0898 (view from hotel room)

We stayed at the Sea Bay Hotel and it was definitely a great choice!  We were able to walk to the beach from it and there’s a cafe inside which really came in handy since there was no formal breakfast place.  Everyone was so friendly and welcoming too.  Since we got in late and only had a snack for lunch, we went out for dinner at Shenanigans.    We poked around a few shops along the boardwalk and found a nice bookstore and shell themed shop.

IMG_0899

We hit the beach early Wednesday morning and stayed for a long time.  I’m sorry to say I haven’t been to the beach in six years at Perdido Key in Florida.  It was lovely to catch some sun, waves and get in some reading.

IMG_0902

For dinner we went to Ropewalk and it was a fantastic choice.  The salmon I had, along with the rice pilaf and green beans were fantastic.  If/when I go back to Ocean City, I’ll definitely go back.  They also have a gorgeous view of the ocean (see top photo of this post).  Afterwards we went to Ripley’s Believe it or Not! and explored the Boardwalk.

IMG_0904

Going to a Ripley’s Believe it or Not! museum has been on my bucket list since I was a kid. I’ve always had a huge interest in the strange, unusual and paranormal.  Suffice to say, I have a staggering collection of books on the subject.  That said, growing up my parents had NO interest in him and even with friends very few held an interest, so I was ecstatic when my friend said she wanted to go as well.

(A structure made of camel bone and Egyptian relics or relics)

(Vampire killing kit, Captain America made of car parts and an Iron Maiden)

IMG_0927

On our way out Thursday morning, we made a pit stop at Fractured Prune.  My friend snagged some donuts for her husband and we are our strawberry and lemonade donuts too fast to get around to taking pictures (it was 11am and we’d only had coffee and water).

We made one last stop before coming back to Virginia in the town of Berlin, Maryland.  It was named best small town in the United States back in 2014 and I can see why.  The town center is cute and it has a natural charm to it.  It’s population of over 4,000 is the same as my small hometown, but this one has much more to offer.  If given in the chance, it’d be a great town to do a cheap/laid back overnight in.

 

Have you had any trips to the beach this year?

Leave a Reply

